History of the Centre
The Dylan Thomas Centre is one of Swansea’s most iconic buildings and since it was built in the 19th century it has led a varied and interesting existence.
Opened in 1825, it became the town guildhall in what was a very affluent part of a thriving Swansea. Almost a century later it served as a juvenile employment centre and then as a technical college, subsequently evolving into a college of further education. Following refurbishment during the Year of Literature in 1995 it changed its name to Ty LLên and was officially re-opened by former US President, Jimmy Carter.
In 2001 the original Dylan Thomas Exhibition opened at the Centre, attracting visitors from all around the world. Now updated to coincide with the centenary celebration of his birth, the refurbished and expanded exhibition (opened in October 2014) enables visitors to gain an even greater insight into one of Swansea’s leading cultural figures.
With the University’s investment in the Centre, the Dylan Thomas Centre is now a multi-purpose venue open to host a range of events and functions. Now, with a new purpose, the Dylan Thomas Centre is being restored to its former glory and is combining the old with the new to widen its product offering. The focus today is on innovation, commerce, business and education.